site  player  
Current GMT Date and Time : » Article » BCCI to have dope test policy in domestic cricket

BCCI to have dope test policy in domestic cricket

BCCI has formed a committee led by Dr. Vece Paes
By Cricket Zone
Mon, Mar 04, 2013 12:37:03 GMT

BCCI to have dope test policy in domestic cricket
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) wants to take some strict action against rising doping incidents in sports with the implementation of dope testing in the Indian domestic cricket during the recently-concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The Mail Today report claims that tests will now become a "regular feature" in domestic cricket across all formats and the BCCI will hire an international company - International Dope Tests and Management (IDTM) - for the entire procedure.

The BCCI has kept the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) out of picture but the samples will be tested at the National Dope-Testing Laboratory (NDTL) in New Delhi.

"We have started conducting dope tests in domestic cricket and it will be a regular feature from here on. Dope tests were done during the Indian Premier League (IPL), but it is a first for domestic cricket. The procedure will be on the lines of the agreement reached out between the ICC and the WADA," Ratnakar Shetty, the BCCI chief administrative officer, is quoted as saying by Mail Today.

The dope tests were conducted during the knock-out stages of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in Visakhapatnam. Dr Vece Paes, Abhijit Salve and Dr PSM Chandran are the members of the dope test committee.

"We started conducting dope tests during the knock-out stages of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and there are other domestic tournaments lined up this season where we will have more such tests. The players have every right to appeal against the sanctions, and for that the BCCI will have an appeals panel. The Court of Arbitration for Sports (AS) is always there and the players are free to go there as well if they want," said Dr. Vece Paes

After the Vijay Hazare Trophy, the Dr. Vece Paes-led committee is heading to Guwahati for the knock-out stages of the Deodhar Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy later this month.

India vs Australia: Second Test, Day 3 scoreboard
Xavier Doherty says Australia have lot of work to do

Bollywood - Salman Khan - Katrina Kaif - Shahrukh Khan
IPL 2013 Scoreboard: Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals
James Faulkner bags the man-of-the-match award as Rajasthan Royals beat Kings XI Punjab by six
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals record third win, beat Kings XI Punjab by 6 wickets
Ajinkya Rahane top-scores for Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals bowl out Kings XI Punjab for 124
David Hussey top-scores for Kings XI Punjab
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals opt to field against Kings XI Punjab
Rajasthan Royals looking to restrict Kings XI Punjab to a modest total
IPL 2013: Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis steer Kolkata Knight Riders to a comfortable victory
Kolkata Knight Riders registers win after losing two consecutive games
IPL 2013 Scoreboard - Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Kolkata Knight Riders beats Sunrisers Hyderabad by 48 runs
IPL 2013: Kolkata Knight Riders score imposing 180/4 against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Skipper Gautam Gambhir leads by example
Steve Waugh joins Vishu celebrations in Kerala
Steve Waugh's colleagues Brett Lee, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist are all taking part in the IPL
IPL 2013: Kolkata Knight Riders hope to regain momentum against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Starting the tournament on a winning note, the title holders suffered two back-to-back losses
IPL 2013 scoreboard: Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets
IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets
Ravindra Jadeja bags man-of-the-match award
IPL 2013: Royal Challengers Bangalore set 166-run target for Chennai Super Kings
AB De Villiers was the top scorer with 64 off 32 balls

Partner Sites - ApunKaChoice - IndiaExpress - Baby Names - CardWeaver
Hot On The Network
Cricket - Live Cricket Scores - India vs Sri Lanka
Indian Cricket Team - Gautam Gambhir - Sachin Tendulkar - Rahul Dravid - Virender Sehwag - Mahendra Dhoni - Yuvraj Singh - Harbhajan Singh - Ishant Sharma - Zaheer Khan - S Sreesanth

Indian Festivals - Indian Holiday Calendar - Baisakhi - Christmas - Diwali - Holi - Onam - Pongal - Raksha Bandhan - Diwali eCards - New Year ecards

ApunKaChoice - Bollywood - Bollywood UK - Bollywood India

Movies - New Releases - Upcoming Movies -