site  player  
Current GMT Date and Time : » Article » Geoff Lawson to assist Afghan under-19 World Cup team

Geoff Lawson to assist Afghan under-19 World Cup team

Geoff Lawson is former Pakistan cricket team coach and has also coached Kochi Tuskers in IPL-2011
By Indo Asian News Service (IANS)
Thu, Jul 12, 2012 08:46:13 GMT

Geoff Lawson to assist Afghan under-19 World Cup team
Former Australian fast bowler Geoff Lawson will assist the Afghanistan team as consultant during the Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Queensland August 11-26.

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) spokesman Nusratullah Wafa, while releasing the 15-member squad, said that Lawson will work with the players on arrival in Australia for the event, almost three weeks ahead of the event that features 16 teams, divided into four groups, reports Xinhua.

The 15-member Afghanistan squad will be captained by Javed Ahmadi with Shabir Noori as his deputy and Haji Wali Amin as coach.

Afghanistan is placed in group B with Pakistan, New Zealand and Scotland.

Hosts Australia, England, Nepal and Ireland are in group A.

The West Indies, Zimbabwe, India and Papua New Guinea are drawn in group C.

Group D comprises Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia.

In their opener, Afghanistan will face Pakistan Aug 11 before taking on the Kiwis three days later. In the third encounter, they are scheduled to meet Scotland Aug 15.

Afghanistan will play warm-up matches against Ireland Aug 7 and India the following day.

ACB chief executive Hamid Shinwari said the squad had been picked after a thorough assessment of players' overall performance during six months of trials. He added the youngsters' morale has been high since they defeated Bangladesh in the Asian Cup a few days ago.

Farid Malik, who has been able to find his way to the team for the first time, called his inclusion the most important occasion in his life. "I have reached this stage after struggling for the last four years," he said, to do all he could to help the side bring home laurels.

The squad:

Javed Ahmadi (captain), Shabir Noori (vice captain), Nasir Jamal Ahmadzai, Afsar Zazi, Najeeb Zadran, Syed Ahmad Sherzad, Mohibullah Pak, Aftab Alam, Noorul Haq Malakzai, Yamen Ahmadzai, Farid Malak, Younas Khan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Abdul Rahim Mangal and Rashid Khan Nasiri.
FICA backs legal action against Bangladesh on players' dues
16 teams named for next month's U-19 cricket World Cup

Bollywood - Salman Khan - Katrina Kaif - Shahrukh Khan
IPL 2013 Scoreboard: Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals
James Faulkner bags the man-of-the-match award as Rajasthan Royals beat Kings XI Punjab by six
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals record third win, beat Kings XI Punjab by 6 wickets
Ajinkya Rahane top-scores for Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals bowl out Kings XI Punjab for 124
David Hussey top-scores for Kings XI Punjab
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals opt to field against Kings XI Punjab
Rajasthan Royals looking to restrict Kings XI Punjab to a modest total
IPL 2013: Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis steer Kolkata Knight Riders to a comfortable victory
Kolkata Knight Riders registers win after losing two consecutive games
IPL 2013 Scoreboard - Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Kolkata Knight Riders beats Sunrisers Hyderabad by 48 runs
IPL 2013: Kolkata Knight Riders score imposing 180/4 against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Skipper Gautam Gambhir leads by example
Steve Waugh joins Vishu celebrations in Kerala
Steve Waugh's colleagues Brett Lee, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist are all taking part in the IPL
IPL 2013: Kolkata Knight Riders hope to regain momentum against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Starting the tournament on a winning note, the title holders suffered two back-to-back losses
IPL 2013 scoreboard: Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets
IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets
Ravindra Jadeja bags man-of-the-match award
IPL 2013: Royal Challengers Bangalore set 166-run target for Chennai Super Kings
AB De Villiers was the top scorer with 64 off 32 balls

Partner Sites - ApunKaChoice - IndiaExpress - Baby Names - CardWeaver
Hot On The Network
Cricket - Live Cricket Scores - India vs Sri Lanka
Indian Cricket Team - Gautam Gambhir - Sachin Tendulkar - Rahul Dravid - Virender Sehwag - Mahendra Dhoni - Yuvraj Singh - Harbhajan Singh - Ishant Sharma - Zaheer Khan - S Sreesanth

Indian Festivals - Indian Holiday Calendar - Baisakhi - Christmas - Diwali - Holi - Onam - Pongal - Raksha Bandhan - Diwali eCards - New Year ecards

ApunKaChoice - Bollywood - Bollywood UK - Bollywood India

Movies - New Releases - Upcoming Movies -