site  player  
Current GMT Date and Time : » Article » Sunil Gavaskar praises Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Sunil Gavaskar praises Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Sunil Gavaskar believes that the break between two series has brought a positive change in Mahendra Singh Dhoni
By Cricket Zone
Wed, Mar 06, 2013 11:04:48 GMT

Sunil Gavaskar praises Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni
The former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar has praised the captaincy of current Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. He believes that the break in between the England series and the current Australian Test series has given Dhoni a much needed breather and that has brought a positive change in him.

"He has changed positively as a captain. Now, if a player is not attentive and not up to the mark, Dhoni is letting him know," Sunil Gavaskar told NDTV.

Gavaskar found MS Dhoni's captaincy a bit defensive in the India versus England Test series. But after two back-to-back wins against Australia in Chennai and Hyderabad, Gavaskar said, "Dhoni has recharged and he is in great batting form, though he needs to tighten up a bit in his wicket-keeping."

The former India Test opener believes that the wicket-keeper batsman should be given the captaincy mantle till 2019 World Cup.

"With the changed leadership approach I think he should not be disturbed till the 2019 World Cup," said Sunil Gavaskar.

At Hyderabad, Mahendra Singh Dhoni registered his 22nd Test win as a skipper, the most by any Indian captain, going past his former skipper Sourav Ganguly.

"There will always be the debate whether Tiger Pataudi is the best-ever captain or is it Ajit Wadekar or Sourav Ganguly. And no one talks about Rahul Dravid who has an outstanding overseas record as skipper," Gavaskar said.

Rahul Dravid led India to a Test series win against West Indies at the Caribbean in 2005 after 35 years. India won their maiden Test against South Africa and Pakistan on their soil under Dravid’s captaincy. In 2007, India went on to register their first Test series win against England in their backyard after 21 years. Alas, not many cricket aficionados remember these great feats.

ICC rankings: Shivnarine Chanderpaul holds steady at No.3
Cheteshwar Pujara comes of age in Test cricket

Bollywood - Salman Khan - Katrina Kaif - Shahrukh Khan
IPL 2013 Scoreboard: Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals
James Faulkner bags the man-of-the-match award as Rajasthan Royals beat Kings XI Punjab by six
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals record third win, beat Kings XI Punjab by 6 wickets
Ajinkya Rahane top-scores for Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals bowl out Kings XI Punjab for 124
David Hussey top-scores for Kings XI Punjab
IPL 2013: Rajasthan Royals opt to field against Kings XI Punjab
Rajasthan Royals looking to restrict Kings XI Punjab to a modest total
IPL 2013: Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis steer Kolkata Knight Riders to a comfortable victory
Kolkata Knight Riders registers win after losing two consecutive games
IPL 2013 Scoreboard - Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Kolkata Knight Riders beats Sunrisers Hyderabad by 48 runs
IPL 2013: Kolkata Knight Riders score imposing 180/4 against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Skipper Gautam Gambhir leads by example
Steve Waugh joins Vishu celebrations in Kerala
Steve Waugh's colleagues Brett Lee, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist are all taking part in the IPL
IPL 2013: Kolkata Knight Riders hope to regain momentum against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Starting the tournament on a winning note, the title holders suffered two back-to-back losses
IPL 2013 scoreboard: Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets
IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets
Ravindra Jadeja bags man-of-the-match award
IPL 2013: Royal Challengers Bangalore set 166-run target for Chennai Super Kings
AB De Villiers was the top scorer with 64 off 32 balls

Partner Sites - ApunKaChoice - IndiaExpress - Baby Names - CardWeaver
Hot On The Network
Cricket - Live Cricket Scores - India vs Sri Lanka
Indian Cricket Team - Gautam Gambhir - Sachin Tendulkar - Rahul Dravid - Virender Sehwag - Mahendra Dhoni - Yuvraj Singh - Harbhajan Singh - Ishant Sharma - Zaheer Khan - S Sreesanth

Indian Festivals - Indian Holiday Calendar - Baisakhi - Christmas - Diwali - Holi - Onam - Pongal - Raksha Bandhan - Diwali eCards - New Year ecards

ApunKaChoice - Bollywood - Bollywood UK - Bollywood India

Movies - New Releases - Upcoming Movies -